Medicaid Waivers

Waiver services are for individuals of any age who have special medical needs.  Waiver services allow members to live in a community setting and avoid institutional placement.  To be eligible for any waiver program, you must meet Medicaid guidelines and waiver eligibility guidelines. Indiana offers five waiver programs that target specific groups.

Nursing Facility level of care waivers:

  • Aged and Disabled Waiver
  • Traumatic Brain Injury Waiver

Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID, formerly ICF/MR)  level of care waivers:

  • Community Integration and Habilitation Waiver (formerly Developmental Disabilities Waiver and Autism Waiver)
  • Family Supports Waiver (formerly Support Service Waiver)

Psychiatric Residental Treatment Facility (PRTF) Transition waiver

To find out more about Medicaid Waiver Programs, click here or go to the Family and Social Services Administration (FSSA) website at http://www.in.gov/fssa/ompp/2549.htm.