Family Planning Eligibility Program

The Family Planning Eligibility Program provides men and women whose incomes do not qualify them for other Indiana Medicaid programs with services and supplies for the primary purpose of preventing or delaying pregnancy.  To be eligible for the Family Planning Eligibility Program, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Not qualify for any other category of Indiana Medicaid
  • Be a U.S. citizen, certain lawful permanent resident, or certain qualified documented alien
  • Cannot be pregnant
  • Have not had a hysterectomy or sterilization
  • Have income that is at or below 141% of the federal poverty level


The following services are covered under the Family Planning Eligibility Program:

  • Annual family planning visits
  • Pap smears
  • FDA-approved oral contraceptive, devices, and supplies, including emergency contraceptives
  • Follow-up care for complications associated with contraceptive methods
  • Initial diagnosis and treatment for Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs) and Sexually Transmitted Infections (STIs), if medically indicated
  • Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved anti-infective agents for initial treatment of STD/STI
  • Laboratory tests, if medically indicated as part of the decision-making process regarding contraceptive methods
  • Tubal ligation
  • Hysteroscopic sterilization with an implant device
  • Vasectomies

The following services will not be covered under the Family Planning Eligibility Program:

  • Abortions
  • Artificial insemination
  • IVF (in vitro fertilization)
  • Fertility counseling
  • Fertility drugs
  • Inpatient hospital stays
  • Treatment for any chronic condition, including STDs or STIs beyond initial treatment
  • Services unrelated to family planning


If you are enrolled under the Family Planning Eligibility Program, you must go to providers who accept Indiana Medicaid.  To locate providers in your area, you can use the Provider Search webpage.