Behavioral & Primary Healthcare Coordination (BPHC) Program

Indiana Medicaid offers coverage for the Behavioral & Primary Healthcare Coordination (BPHC) program.  This program helps certain members manage their health care needs through education, support, and advocacy.  The program provides activities that help members gain access to needed physical and behavioral health services needed to manage their health conditions.

Who is eligible for BPHC?

You must meet financial and behavioral health guidelines in order to be enrolled in the BPHC program. When you complete your Indiana Application for Health coverage, the Division of Family Resources (DFR) will determine if you qualify for health coverage based on the financial criteria.  The Division of Mental Health and Addiction (DMHA) will determine if you meet the behavioral health criteria.

Eligibility Summary

The table below shows the current eligibility requirements for the BPHC program.  You must meet all of these criteria:


Must be 19 years of age or older

Financial Criteria

Have countable income below 300% FPL

Behavioral Health Criteria

Must be diagnosed with a BPHC-eligible primary mental health diagnosis and co-occurring health condition

You must also have demonstrated needs related to managing your behavioral and physical health.

If you would like to learn more about the BPHC program, you can visit the FSSA Division of Mental Health and Addiction.