Section Header Photo

Traditional Medicaid

Traditional Medicaid is a program created to provide health care coverage to individuals with low income.  Medicaid provides assistance for medical expenses such as doctor visits, prescription drugs, dental and vision care, family planning, mental health care, surgeries, and hospitalizations.

Who is eligible?

Like other health care programs, eligibility and coverage are based on the member's aid category. Members in the following categories will be covered by Traditional Medicaid:

  • Medicaid waiver program recipient
  • Dually eligible for Medicare and Medicaid
  • Members in nursing homes, intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded and state-operated facilities
  • Members in the hospice program
  • Undocumented aliens

You may be eligible for full, limited, or emergency Medicaid coverage depending on the category under which you qualify. When you apply for Medicaid, you will automatically be enrolled in the program that is right for you.

How to apply

Applications for Medicaid, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance (SNAP, formerly known as 'Food Stamps'), and Cash Assistance are handled by the Division of Family Resources (DFR).  You can apply for benefits on the internet or over the phone.  You may also apply in person at a local DFR office or at a Community Enrollment Center.

Medicaid Covered Services