Indiana Medicaid Waivers

In the past, Medicaid only paid for long term care services that were provided in an institution, such as nursing facilities and group homes. The waiver program "waives" the requirement of an admission into an institution in order for Medicaid to pay for the needed Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS).

The Office of Medicaid Policy and Planning (OMPP) is responsible for the development and operation of its waiver programs, in agreement with the Division of Aging, the Division of Mental Health and Addiction, and the Division of Disability and Rehabilitative Services. Each Division works to create the service definitions and standards for services and providers and then certifies provider applicants in order to provide the waiver services.  Indiana has five waiver services programs:

Nursing Facility level of care waivers:

  • Aged and Disabled Waiver
  • Traumatic Brain Injury Waiver

These waivers are for children and adults whose needs are primarily medical, and assist a person to be as independent as possible and live in the least restrictive environment possible while maintaining safety in the home

Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities(ICF-IID) level of care waivers:

  • Community Integration and Habilitation Waiver (formerly Developmental Disabilities Waiver and Autism Waiver)
  • Family Supports Waiver (formerly Support Services Waiver)

These waivers are for children and adults with an intellectual disability and assist a person to: become involved in the community where he or she lives and works; develop social relationships in the person's home and work communities; develop skills to make decisions about how and where the person wants to live; and be as independent as possible.

Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility (PRTF) transition waiver:

This waiver is for children with serious emotional disturbances and youth with serious mental illness who transitioned from the prior Community Alternative to PRTF Grant to the new PRTF Waiver on October 1, 2012 for continuing intensive community-based interventions and supports to become as independent as possible.